ST CATHERINE'S CHURCH, VENTNOR

6РМ

19 May 2025

Members present:-

Councillors: Steve Cooper (Chair), Steph Toogood, James Toogood, John Watkins, Steve Milford, Mark Jefferies, Ian Bond, Linda Jefferies, Brayden Gibbins, Ernie Polak-Harvey, Karl Hunter Also present:- Katherine Burden (Clerk), Alison Killick (Assistant Town Clerk), Morgan Williams (Policy, Projects and Premises Officer), Catherine Hammond (Business and Voluntary Sector Officer)

MINUTE SUBJECT DRAFT

33/25 ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR FOR 2025/26

Cllr Mark Jefferies requested that all votes be recorded.

It was proposed by Councillor Ian Bond, seconded by Councillor Mark Jefferies and resolved that Councillor Steve Cooper be appointed as Chair of the Council and Town Mayor until the next Annual Town Council Meeting with the votes as follows:

In favour: Cllr Ian Bond, Cllr Mark Jefferies, Cllr Steph Toogood, Cllr James Toogood, Cllr John Watkins, Cllr Steve Milford, Cllr Brayden Gibbins, Cllr Karl Hunter Abstentions: Cllr Linda Jefferies

34/25 ELECTION OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR FOR 2025/26

It was proposed by Councillor Steve Cooper, seconded by Councillor John Watkins and resolved that Councillor Steph Toogood be appointed as Deputy Chair of the Council and Deputy Town Mayor until the next Annual Town Council Meeting with the votes as follows:

In favour: Cllr Steve Cooper, Cllr John Watkins, Cllr Ian Bond, Cllr James Toogood, Cllr Steve Milford, Cllr Brayden Gibbins, Cllr Karl Hunter

Abstentions: Cllr Mark Jefferies, Cllr Linda Jefferies

35/25 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

There were no apologies for absence received.

36/25 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no Declarations of Interest received.

37/25 OTHER APPOINTMENTS

It was unanimously agreed:

To appoint Cllr Steve Cooper as Chair of the Policy and Resources Committee and to appoint Cllr Steve Milford, Cllr John Watkins and Cllr Ian Bond as members of the Policy and Resources Committee and to appoint Cllr Steph Toogood as a substitute member of the Policy and Resources Committee.

It was unanimously agreed:

To appoint Cllr Ian Bond as Chair of the Buildings Maintenance Committee and to appoint Cllr Linda Jefferies, Cllr Mark Jefferies and Cllr Steve Cooper as members of the Buildings Maintenance Committee and to appoint Cllr Steve Milford as a substitute member of the Buildings Maintenance Committee.

It was agreed:

To appoint Cllr John Watkins as Chair of the Planning Committee and to appoint Cllr Steph Toogood and Cllr James Toogood as members of the Planning Committee and to appoint Cllr Karl Hunter as a substitute member of the Planning Committee with the votes as follows:

In favour: Cllr Steve Cooper, Cllr John Watkins, Cllr Ian Bond, Cllr Steph Toogood, Cllr James Toogood, Cllr Mark Jefferies, Cllr Linda Jefferies, Cllr Steve Milford, Cllr Karl Hunter, Cllr Ernie Polak-Harvey Abstentions: Cllr Brayden Gibbins

It was unanimously agreed:

To appoint Cllr Mark Jefferies as Chair of the Environment and Transport Committee and to appoint Cllr Steve Cooper, Cllr Ian Bond, Cllr Steve Milford and Cllr Karl Hunter as members of the Environment and Transport Committee and to appoint Cllr Ernie Polak-Harvey as a substitute member of the Environment and Transport Committee.

It was unanimously agreed:

To appoint Cllr Steph Toogood as Chair of the Business and Community Committee and to appoint Cllr Linda Jefferies, Cllr James Toogood, Cllr John Watkins and Cllr Brayden Gibbins as members of the Business and Community Committee and to appoint Cllr Ernie Polak-Harvey as a substitute member of the Business and Community Committee.

It was unanimously agreed:

that Councillor Mark Jefferies be appointed as the main representative for the Rew Valley Sports Hall Steering Working Group.

It was unanimously agreed:

that Councillor Steve Cooper be appointed as the voting representative for IWALC (Isle of Wight Association of Local Councils) and Councillor Steph Toogood and Cllr Ian Bond as Deputies.

It was unanimously agreed:

that Councillor James Toogood be appointed as the main representative for the Ventnor Harbour User Group.

38/25 GENERAL POWER OF COMPETENCE

The requirements a Town or Parish Council must fulfil to be eligible to exercise the General Power of Competence are:

- Two-thirds of its Members must have been elected or stood for election;
- The Town Clerk must hold one of the recognised qualifications including that for the General Power of Competence.

It was noted that the Council did not meet the requirements for GPC as it did not meet the requirement with regard to a Town Clerk who holds the CiLCA Qualification.

It was resolved that:

Ventnor Town Council notes that as it at this time does not meet the conditions of eligibility required to exercise the General Power of Competence as set out in the Parish Councils (General Power of Competence) (Prescribed Conditions) Order 2012.

39/25 STANDING ORDERS

It was proposed by Councillor Linda Jefferies, seconded by Councillor John Watkins and unanimously resolved:

To approve the amendments to the Standing Orders and adopt the Standing Orders.

40/25 FINANCIAL REGULATIONS

It was proposed by Councillor Steve Milford, seconded by Councillor John Watkins and unanimously resolved:

To approve the amendments to the Financial Regulations and adopt the Financial Regulations.

41/25 SCHEME OF DELEGATIONS

It was proposed by Councillor John Watkins, seconded by Councillor Ian Bond and unanimously resolved:

To approve the amendments to the Scheme of Delegations and adopt the Scheme of Delegations.

42/25 DATE OF THE NEXT MEETING

Monday 9th June 2025 at 7pm.

The meeting closed at 6.20pm

SIGNED BY THE MAYOR DATE