THE ISLAND FREE SCHOOL 6PM 9 MAY 2016

MEMBERS PRESENT

Councillors: Jason Mack (Mayor), Leigh Geddes, Jim Toogood, Brian Lucas, Stewart Blackmore, Tony Marvin, Ed Gouge Delian Backhouse-Fry, Harry Rees

ITEM SUBJECT

60/14 ELECTION OF TOWN MAYOR

It was proposed by Councillor Stewart Blackmore, seconded by Councillor Jim Toogood and resolved unanimously that:

Councillor Jason Mack be elected Town Mayor for the year 2016/17.

61/14 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Steve Stubbings and Ken Knapman.

62/14 ELECTION OF DEPUTY TOWN MAYOR

It was proposed by Councillor Jim Toogood, seconded by Councillor Tony Marvin and resolved unanimously that:

Councillor Leigh Geddes be elected Deputy Town Mayor for the year 2016/2017.

63/14 APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEES AND WORKING GROUPS

a) Planning Committee

It was proposed by the Mayor, seconded by Councillor Leigh Geddes and unanimously resolved that:

Councillors Jim Toogood, Brian Lucas, Tony Marvin, and Ed Gouge be appointed to serve on the Planning Committee for the year 2016/2017.

b) Staffing Committee

It was proposed by Councillor Tony Marvin, seconded by Councillor Brian Lucas and resolved unanimously that:

Councillors Harry Rees, Steve Stubbings, Leigh Geddes, Ken Knapman and Jim Toogood be appointed to serve on the Staffing Committee for the year 2016/2017.

c) Community Development Working Group

It was proposed by Councillor Stewart Blackmore, seconded by Councillor Brian Lucas and resolved unanimously that:

Councillors Jason Mack, Leigh Geddes, Steve Stubbings, Ken Knapman and Delian Backhouse Fry be appointed to serve on the Community Development Working Group for the year 2016/2017.

d) Public Buildings Working Group

It was proposed by Councillor Leigh Geddes, seconded by Councillor Harry Rees and resolved unanimously that:

Councillors Jason Mack, Jim Toogood, Tony Marvin, Brian Lucas and Stewart Blackmore be appointed to serve on the Public Buildings Working Group for the year 2016/2017.

64/14 APPOINTMENT OF REPRESENTATIVES TO OTHER BODIES

It was unanimously resolved that:

- a) Councillor Harry Rees be appointed as the Town Council's representative to the Isle of Wight Association of Local Councils (IWALC) with Councillor Ken Knapman as Deputy.
- b) Councillor Jim Toogood be appointed as the Town Council's representative to the Beach

- **Environment Advisory Committee.**
- c) Councillor Tony Marvin be appointed as the Town Council's liaison with the Emergency Services.
- d) Councillor Tony Marvin be appointed as the Town Council's representative on the Local Access Forum.

65/14 GENERAL POWER OF COMPETENCE

- a) It was noted that the requirements a Town or Parish Council must fulfil to be eligible to exercise the General Power of Competence are:
 - two-thirds of its Members must have been elected or stood for election;
 - the Town Clerk must hold one of the recognised qualifications including that for the General Power of Competence.
- b) The Town Clerk confirmed that these criteria are complied with at this time.

It was unanimously resolved that: JR HR

Ventnor Town Council notes that as it meets the conditions of eligibility required to exercise the General Power of Competence as set out in the Parish Councils (General Power of Competence) (Prescribed Conditions) Order 2012 it continues to be eligible for its use.

(Prescribed Coliditions) Order 2012 it continues to be engible for its use.		
The Meeting closed at 6.16pm.		
SIGNED BY THE MAYOR	Date	